Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

October 10, 2017

Intro to Photo Book Design workshop outline – Third Edition pending

Filed under: Art Market, Photography, Projects/Series, Workshops — Tags: , — Doug Stockdale @ 11:45 pm

10-10-17_Introduction_to_Photo_Book_Design_101050-01_LACP_workshop

Red lines, Workshop outline, Second Edition, 2017 Douglas Stockdale

As I stated in an earlier post, in conjunction with the current workshop class, we self-published the second edition of the Workshop outline. I had really thought that this outline text was pretty well nailed-down. Alas, due to the eagle eyes of my workshop participants, Jocelyn Young, Christine Kaplan, Sarah Rooney, Alan Jacknow, Jane Szabo and Yulia Morris, I now foresee a third edition on the horizon now. Continuous Improvement!

This also underlines one of my recommendations, that regretfully waiting until the last minute to print the second edition, I did not take myself. We need another set of eyes to edit almost any text that we want to include in a self-published book. Jocelyn made a great point, although she found most of the text that needs correcting, she has issues with editing her own work. We all have this bad habit of reading what we want to see, not seeing the actual words used. Spell check can help with most items, but if I want to discuss a book launch, but typing in a book lunch is something that will not get flagged. Same for grammar.

A really big thank you for my new text editorial team! Only wish I had caught most of these before using it for the workshop. So with these fixes really to be implemented, I think it’s going to be a good idea that I have someone proof read the changes I make. Which also means not waiting until the day before to print the third edition. One of these days I am going to be looking pretty smart.

Next up is the Marketing Your Photo Book workshop in conjunction with LACP at the end of this month. I don’t think I will have a similar outline to self-publish, but highly suspect that I will have another interesting outline for the workshop participants (yes, a bit of surprise). This one-day session will greatly expand on the one-hour I spent on this during this Photo Book Design workshop. Should be another fun and practical experience.

Cheers!

Doug

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

