Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

April 15, 2016

Photo Independent – Print Portfolio progress

087 06-10-14_Memory_Pods_1127_108BW_No_Pods

Memory Pods, copyright 2016 Douglas Stockdale

An update on my progress to prepare for Photo Independent regarding my print portfolio(s) as previous discussed. First, the idea that I had to quickly prepare a print portfolio for Photo Independent was quickly stressing me out. Needing to quickly select the prints (yikes, which ones out of the project?), then matte and prepare the prints, and ensure that I had all of the outer bags to protect the sold prints was just a little too much on short notice. Yes it could not be done as I have jumped through these types of hoops in the past, but did I really need to?

I think its about expectations; if you are at an art fair then you should have prints for sale. Well honestly I do have some items for sale; a trade edition of Ciociaria, two limited editions of this book, my hand-made artist book Pine Lake, some out-of-print copies of LensWork #74 that feature my In Passing project and probably my Foundations mini-portfolio. So I think I am going to take an alternative pathway for my prints that will work best for me; bringing a print portfolio or two of work-in-progress and ask for feedback. This could be a win-win opportunity for me.

So at the moment, the first work-in-progress print portfolio will be my Memory Pods project. I have not been posting much of my photographs for this project created with the larger format Canon 5D equipment. Thus this photograph will be new. I have also been working on the artist statement for this project, which I will print and have available at Photo Independent to provide to those who have an interest in this project. I am also planning to have an interest list to capture names and emails of those who are interested in this project for follow up as the project comes closer to publication and exhibition. And of course I will need to update my web site with the images in the portfolio, which I will announce here when I have completed it.

Cool, I am doing much better already! And a back-up supply of pigment ink for the Epson printer just arrived so I feel energized to dig in and start printing. This is going to be fun!

Cheers!

3 Comments »

  1. […] is another great validation on the response to my Memory Pods project that I received during Photo Independent earlier this […]

    Pingback by Irvine Fine Art Center – All Media 2016 acceptance | Doug Stockdale's Singular Images — July 13, 2016 @ 9:46 pm

  2. […] is another great validation on the response to my Memory Pods project that I received during Photo Independent earlier this […]

    Pingback by Irvine Fine Art Center’s All Media 2016 | The Photo Exchange — July 13, 2016 @ 9:57 pm

  3. […] prints,  there are some subtle differences compared to the high resolution of the full frame Canon 5DMkIII and a lot of differences with the Samsung 5S digital images. The new film series is not meant to be […]

    Pingback by Memory Pods – Film alternative | Doug Stockdale's Singular Images — August 30, 2016 @ 11:09 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

