Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

January 25, 2015

Nocturnal Winter Landscape studies

Filed under: Photography — Tags: , — Doug Stockdale @ 11:13 pm

01-21-15_Hunt_Valley_MD_190754

Nocturnal III (below: Nocturnal II & Nocturnal) copyright 2015 Douglas Stockdale

This last week I was on assignment in the Baltimore area and from what I anticipated about this trip, it was going to be long and late hours entirely inside with a large group of people, which indeed it turned out to be. Thus I was no really anticipating any opportunities to work on my own projects, which in retrospect probably allowed me to relax and be open to what appeared before me.

The location was an industrial area in the northern suburbs of Baltimore with a mix of older industrial and a spattering of older residential, an area that could have be interesting to walk about if given the time. Regretfully, only a tiny bit of dawn light and not much time to use it. I was already on a sleep deficit attempting to adjust with the three hour difference from SoCal, so even with a couple of cups of coffee I was still a bit of a zombie that early in the morning.

On Wednesday, there was an interesting environmental change for this SoCal guy, it began to snow at noon and that evening everything had a light blanket of new, clear snow. Graphic and beautiful! After dinner I noted that the back of the parking lot had a line of brush and trees illuminated by towering parking lot lights. So being intrigued by what lay in front of me I investigated with the camera phone sans tripod. The resulting low resolution images were a fun exercise and made the time fly delightfully by. The image above and on the very bottom are monochromatic and not processed as black and white, while the first image below was converted to black and white as there were some color cast from the parking lights that I found disturbing.

With close scrutiny of the image at the bottom it is evident that this is not as sharp as the other two images, but these are the best of this bunch. I made a number of extra exposures and I was a tad bit cold, thus anticipated that I was not the most steady guy taking these longer exposure pictures.

Next time the tripod goes in the car!

Cheers!

01-21-15_Hunt_Valley_MD_191152_11x14BW

01-21-15_Hunt_Valley_MD_190825

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

