Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

October 21, 2009

Still developing Milan Fashion Week

Filed under: Photography, Projects/Series — Tags: , — Doug Stockdale @ 7:02 pm

Fashion_Week_Accessory_Paparazzi

Fashion Week Accessory: Paparazzi by Douglas Stockdale from the project: Milan Fashion Week

Although I lost a couple of days of photo files from when I was in Milan last month, I had hoped to fill in the gaps in my project when I returned to Milan at the end of this month, possibly the begining of November. It now appears that my return to Milan will be probably be later in the Fall, with my principal assignment is being changed to Rome. I think that I can make Rome work and it should be an excellent location to obtain the remaining photographs that I want. nice.

I am also starting to frame out my intent for this project, in that it might need a little more of an external context, but still maintain  a lot of mystery. The questions are more important than the answers.

Best regards, Douglas

BTW the above fashion photograph was created with an Italian fashion magazine, not often you can catch the paparazzi in action.

Update: I had published my first photographer’s statement on this project, part to get out there as well as to think a little more about how well I had defined this project.  But I did not feel entirely comfortable with that first attempt, so I tried again. It is now starting to come together, so here it is for a little wider distribution (not many folks are checking this project-blog as of yet, so go give it a read and let me know what you think):

Milan Fashion Week: What is the purpose of high fashion? To inspire us to purchase garments and accessories that might better represent our true inner self? Is the pursuit of fashion an attainment of a dream like persona, defined by a transitory group of designers, models, and photographers? This  September I was in Milan for Fashion Week to investigated these questions. This is my report, as well as my own fashion portfolio.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

