Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

December 11, 2008

Sharpening Photos for POD Publishing – 2nd Edition

Filed under: Books, Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 11:23 pm

cover-2nd-edition-sharpening-photo_pod

I am very happy to announce that the second edition of my sharpening book for POD publishing has been completed, uploaded and now available for purchase here.

Even though I have changed the title a wee bit, it is still my second edition Sharpening book nevertheless. I had the wonderful editorial help from my friend Dave Olmstead to eliminate my crummy use of grammar. Remember, the first edition was created in just one day when I was really aggravated with my first production proof of In Passing, so hopefully I get some allowances AND I was in the middle of trying to complete my SoFoBoMo 2008 project. Yikes.

What I had not noticed until recently is that my first edition Sharpening book had received a Blurb Staff  Pick. Now I am hoping to receive the same Blurb recommendation for my second edition. Thanks Blurb team!

So this new edition has the grammar and spelling fixes, more comparative photographs to illustrate my points, a little more experience to draw from and share and the photographs re-arranged a bit to help illustrate the effects (Thanks to Laura Russel, 23 Sandy Gallery for those great recommendations).

Okay, so go check it out and let me know your thoughts from what you read in the preview. I have kept the first edition on Blurb with a referral to the second edition. I do not expect anyone to purchase the first edition, but there are a number of Internet and other blog pointers and links to the first edition book that I want to preserve for the time being.

Best regards, Doug

BTW, one tiny complaint. When you upload to Blurb, you upload the file that has all of the photographic images with the output sharpening for the laser half-tone printing process.  But then Blurb uses those same photo file for a internet presentation. And the photograhic files were not been optimized for the internet, so they are way oversharpened and regrefully it shows. sigh.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m glad you have added the link. I checked the preview earlier and the book looks sensational. While I would love to purchase “In Passing”, I don’t think I can fit that into the budget. This book, however, may be essential. Time to review that budget again.

    Comment by Anita Jesse — December 12, 2008 @ 3:03 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

