Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

December 10, 2008

Creative transparency

Filed under: Photography, Projects/Series — Doug Stockdale @ 11:45 pm

odc008-razed-4-development-blog

First, this is not about how to creatively use transparency, which is an interesting subject in itself, but about the transparency of my own creative process.  For those who have been reading along, you all know that I write about my ups and downs of creating a photographic series.

For some folks, they need to cloak their creative ups and down is secret, which is their choice, but I have learned more when writing about what goes right and what goes wrong. That is just the process which seems to work for me. Kinda like my photography, I do what I like to do and I hope you enjoy it too.

BUT (you just gotta like those but’s, eh?) sometime I work on a series and it seems that it is TOTALLY for me, or in the case of my recent Re:Development triptychs, the series of three images, don’t communicate my point very well (if at all). In this case, I was intereted in getting a point across, thus the way I created the series as all triptychs does not seem to have the desired impact.

To modify the Serenty Prayer about the development of a photographic series, I know I can explore creative options, but I need to have the ability to understand when it is working and when is not, and the wisdom to know the difference.

My series Re:Development in a triptych presentation format was not really working that well. A lot of the images, in retrospect, are much stronger (like the one above) when they were not cropped square and placed into an adjuacent contex with two other images to form a triptych. Nevertheless, let me state that I also think that the triptych format works really well with some sequences.

Although I am now reworking the series again as singular images, I am also going to retain some of the triptychs as well. As my friend Miguel suggested a while ago (wish I would have listened a little better the first time), create the series with the single images and add in a couple of combination triptychs, just not make the entire series in a triptych format.

Thus, like I have done with my series In Passing, I am in the process of re-examining the 120-140 photographs of my final cut for Re:Development to pull together a comprehensive body of work. Now thinking about which photographs to use, pairing and sequencing for a book, to tie this all together.

Okay, enough transparency for a day, now back to finishing the second edition of my Sharpening for POD publishing book. The edits are back (Thanks Dave!) and now a final review, add another photograph or two and hopefully upload to Blurb tomorrow.

Best regards, Doug

2 Comments »

  1. I enjoy immensely your transperency.

    I don’t feel qualified to comment on this, but here goes anyway. Your analysis of this series fits perfectly with my perception. I have have felt that the images from this series have the most impact when they were presented singly rather than as part of a triptych. That being said, I suspect there are some of the images that will ultimately work best when shown in that format along with other images that support one another in conveying your message. I look forward to witnessing the next stage of development.

    Comment by Anita Jesse — December 11, 2008 @ 5:33 am

  2. Anita, I think it is always a challenge when you step outside your comfort zone. Tripychs are not a new way to present images, nevertheless, it has to add, not be a ditraction, to the body of work. It was a very interesting learning experience for me and a challenage to try and make it work, as it did seem like a good fit for what I was exploring.

    Comment by Doug Stockdale — December 11, 2008 @ 5:44 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

