Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

April 16, 2008

1st year anniversary – this blog

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 5:11 pm

With not a lot to write about at the moment, I thought today would be a good time to make a quick announcement about me having survived my first year of this blog on the web. Like my projects, this has not turned out as I had expected and seems to have a life of its own. Which is not a bad thing, eh?

So I do plan to keep doing what I have been doing lately, writing about myself mostly and some about others who I find interesting. Maybe just not as frequently, as you have only so much time. My own unfinished photographic projects keeping giving me the case of the guilts when I am not making much progress with finishing them, but the truth is, there will always be some unfinished project business. It takes me three times as long (if not more) to tweak and finish a project than it does to photographic it.

So some trival facts about this blog;

Over the last year, this blog has been read over 20,000 times and there’s about 40 of you who seem come back regularly.  And this blog gets read about 150 times per day, sometimes hitting 250 reads. Thanks for your support and especially your comments and joining in my dialog. It really has made a difference to me, and hopefully to some of you.

It seems that I have made 381 posts, almost one per day, which was my initial intent, so that’s not too bad. I’ve posted 271photographs, a lof of them mine. I seem to be getting more comments now, and I don’t know if what I write about is getting more interesting or what. But again, thanks for the comments and your personal connections! The developing connections with many of you is one of the aspects that I had not anticipated, and I am thankful for that unplanned & wonderful outcome for starting this blog.

My most popular blog writes seem to lean towards equipment, the top three: Lecia M8 vs Canon XTi (over 300 views), Portfolio reviews – my experience (290 views), 3rd is a tie: Maxtor 350 external HD (250 views) and Marketing 101 – Marketing price (250 views).

The top three search words that bump into this blog is surprising to me: Minor White, LensWork and Doug Stockdale.

Oh, yes, I come to think of the image with this post to be a lot about me; a little too much traveling, frenzied & frazzled at times, dragging my stuff around the world.

Best regards, Doug

2 Comments »

  1. Doug, congratulations on the one-year anniversary of your blog, as well as the increasing success with your work. I am particularly happy that you posted this celebratory post along with the mention of your most popular posts. I thought I never missed a day checking up on your latest adventures, but somehow I missed the post on your reviews at Palm Springs. Too bad, because I had been intensely curious about the outcome and thought a couple of times about asking if you ever intended to discuss it. Duh. You gotta keep up, Anita.

    I appreciate that engineer mind that produced a meticulously detailed report. It is enormously informative, as well as being a welcome vindication of my response to your work. You know, “Wow. Those reviewers must be pretty smart. They like Doug’s work as much as I do.” All kidding aside, I am a big fan. This is something I never said before. You work in a genre that normally has little or no appeal for me. I am an incurable romantic—perhaps sentimental old fool is more to the point, and like Pooh, the bear, of “very little brain”, and then to top it off, when it comes to tastes, I would choose fried chicken over sushi every time. Yet, in spite of all those barriers, I find your work compelling. It sticks with me, influences me, and hangs around on the edge of my mind long after I move on to other matters. I am delighted that the conference was such a positive experience and grateful for the comprehensive tutorial on preparing for a review session.

    Comment by Anita Jesse — April 18, 2008 @ 5:29 pm

  2. thank you, and sometimes my engineering background does leak out. I am becoming more comfortable with that aspect of who I am;- )

    BTW I do relate to the Pooh way of thinking very much, so that must be the connection. But I do perfer sushi!

    Comment by Doug Stockdale — April 18, 2008 @ 8:39 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

