Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

January 5, 2008

Hahnemuhle printing issue

Filed under: Photography, Projects/Series — Doug Stockdale @ 5:46 pm

Icy Creek

While printing my Foundations folio, I have had only one issue with the Hahnemuhle Photo Rag (308gm), which is with the Hahnemulhle feeding through my Epson 4800. This is a modest size printing project, as I needed to print only 130 cut sheets of 8-1/2″ x 11″ for the first printing of this folio.

I had heard about paper feeding issues with the matte Hahnemeuhle Photo Rag before this, so instead of printing all 10 sheets of a given image at a time, I reduced the print production to 5 sheets per run.  Seems that the heavy matte Photo Rag has some ‘dust’ that accumulates on the traction feed that caused the cut sheet to slip. I did not take a precaution of using my drafting wisk to give a the cut sheets a whipe before loading them into the printer.

About half way throught the 130 sheets I started having the mis-feeding issues.  I started getting two sheets coming through the printer at a time, sometimes out of phase, getting part of the image printed on the two different overlapping pages or have the image printed off center. I started wasting a bunch of paper. 

So I kept reducing the quantity of prints that I made for each batch until I am now printing them one at a time, loading only one cut sheet in the printer for each printing. It has doubled or tripled the time to print the remaining images, but I eliminated the print feeding issues and incorrect prints. I don’t know if this will be the same issue if I was using roll feed Hahnemuhle 308gm Photo Rag. Perhaps I will find out for the next printing of this folio.

Best regards, Doug

1 Comment »

  1. Great photo

    Comment by Fotomodelki — March 10, 2008 @ 5:10 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

