Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

December 7, 2007

Transitional Seam: Artist Statement

Filed under: Photography, Projects/Series — Doug Stockdale @ 8:50 pm

As the publication of my series Bad Trip – Sad Trip in LensWork nears, my to-do list in preparation is now a little shorter with the completion of my artist statement for my current project Transitional Seam. I guess you could say that I hope there will be a few more folks poking around my web site after this publication and I’m trying to look like I know what I’m doing and not have too many loose ends.

Having forgotten my original notes about this series on that fateful flight from Hong Kong to Shanghai, I’ve had to recreate this statement again.  Thus, I wanted to get back into the photographic flow of the series to help ensure that what it is I was trying to accomplish is what I still felt. Yep, it still is. So hopefully as you read my statement, it will make sense to you, as it is my best attempts to understand my own feelings. Yeah, back to that guy thing about discussing my feelings.

As a side note, at times, I am just not sure of what photograhic ‘catagory’ this and my other series falls into. I don’t neccessarily think of it as documentary, but I suppose a part of it is. It is also part landscape and I guess a little social commentary and a lot of personal observations.  I suppose that it may be best thought of as photographs created by Doug;- )

Best regards, Doug

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

