Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

November 19, 2007

Restarting the book project again

Filed under: Books, Photography, Projects/Series — Doug Stockdale @ 8:49 pm

Okay, I am now back from my three trip and I am ready to start working on my privately published folio on the Bad Trip – Sad Trip series, which I guess you could also call  a Monograph. I have also initiated a new catagory bucket (Books) on the side bar to help consolidate all of these posts for those who are interested in the condensed version of this book publishing project.

To recap, I have selected the images from the series for the book, completed the image pairing with images on each page and a single image facing each other, the initial sequencing of the images through the book and started printing the first dummy, with ten pages completed. I also have the 100% rag medium selected for the pages; Moab Entrada Natural, 190 gm.

My current short term goal is to have the dummy completed in time for Photo LA, which is in mid-January.  My concern is that I may have to be back in China for a client project that week.  Which has me thinking, as I was going to use Japanese silk for the book and clamshell cover, since I will be in China again, why not buy a bolt of Chineese silk instead?  But I need to figure out how much material that I need, what size and orientation and what are the pros and cons of buying this material in China.  Costs will be less, that’s for sure. hmmm.

I now need to better define my book publishing costs and how I am going to finance this.  With the hand binding and custom clam shell box, this is going to be an expensive book to produce.

Well, back to printingthe dummuy some more, so I probably won’t have another update on this for another week or so…..

Best regards, Doug

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

