Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

October 31, 2007

Travel Log: Photo of the Day: Marburg, Germany

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 6:26 am

Marburg Oberstrasse

This is the image that I made yesterday morning before sunrise, looking out my hotel window in Marburg, Germany.  Last night I had an internet signal, but for the life of me, I could not get a connection, and the same for early this morning. So off to breakfast downstairs, very nice, brought back a coffee and bingo, I’m in.  I still don’t know why, but here I am!

Martin inquired about my travel tripod, so I had planned to write about it later, now will do.  I have a Gitz G1228MK2 and a Really Right Stuff BH42 (mid size, can’t reacall the number) ball head. I also bought aq Tenba tripod carring case for it. This is a 4 section Carbon Fiber lightweight tripod, with center column, folded down its about 24″ (60 mm). What I recall reading is that for travel, try to stay short for storing in the overhead bin during flights.  For this trip with the carry on restrictions in London,  the tripod is short enought to just pop in to my bag that I was checking. Nice.

I had actually bought this tripod for my Hasselblad, which due to wanting to keep the weight down for hiking, I was using only with the waist finder. Thus a shorter tripod was not not an issue as to my 6′ height and waist level viewing set-up.  With the Canon XTi, I could use a little longer tripod to bring the camera to eye level without raising the center post. But still very workable. And as you can tell by the image posted with this message, works well!

Best regards, Doug

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

