Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

October 17, 2007

Pending photo of the day

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 9:29 pm

Great intentions but just flat out ran out of time!  I saw a great potential for my series Transition Seam on the way through Corona and Norco (stands for North Corona) on Sunday, but I was running out of time for making Victorville and the memorial that I wanted to photograph before dark.  So I had planned to make this stop on the way back from the Convention show.

Best laid plans of mice and men…. First, I found some really interesting equipment that I had missed earlier, so I was delayed getting out of the convention center. (Still stopped for a nice lunch at the hotel before hitting the road for the 4 hour drive back)  Second, a terrible wind storm (sand storm) came up in the desert on the drive back, thus slowing everyone. At least they did not close the road until much later, but by then they had a bad accident leaving three persons dead.  So with my SUV weaving in the strong head wind, this was not an easy drive home.  And the front windshield did not get pitted from the blowing sand.  So getting to Norco, it was late and getting dark and overcast from the storm.  The nice thing is that the empty house and grounds that I wanted to photograph was adjacent to the freeway, easy on and easy off.  And the clouds parted for a wonderful front light with the darker background, just in time for me to take the lens cover off and make a couple of exposures.  I think that I might come back here again real soon if I need to re-photograph this composition.

But by the time I arrived home and had dinner with the family, I was exhausted.  So perhaps my Tuesday photo of the day will get posted later this evening.  Maybe;- )

Best regards, Doug

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

