Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

October 10, 2007

Plans going astray

Filed under: Art, Photography, Projects/Series — Doug Stockdale @ 3:01 am

Tollroad Hillside

Tollroad Hillside  (from the series Bad Trip – Sad Trip)

Well my book private publishing plans have gone slightly astray, in as other things have come up. First, my consulting business has a ton of work. The I doing my daily one hour commute there and then back again. But that has given me the opporunity to work on my different series, so I am making the best of it;- )

My two week trip to China has finally been rescheduled for the begining of November, but due to other technical issues, I will need first spend a week in Germany (Marburg, which is about an hour drive north of Frankfurt, depending on how fast you drive on the Autoban).  I know, for those who do not get the opportunity to do interntional travel as a business expense, it does not seem like much of a hardship.  But if you did it often enough, trust me, its can wear on you.

So my printing time is dwindling rapidly. Thus my latest decision is just to take one step at a time and eventually I will get there, just not as soon as I had hoped.  I do tend to get very optimistic on my scheduling.  I will still target having at least the book dummy, if not a Artist Proof (A/P) for Photo LA in January.

BTW, this image, Tollroad Hillside benefited a lot from my checking where I had my blacks and shadows, giving a more richer looking image with a little more three dimensional look.  I also eased back on the dark sky to provide a little better balance such that the sky was not the focus of attention.  Or at least I hope that my modifications are achieving that effect;- )

Oh, and the Moab paper delivery finally came today, which is about time. So either Friday or Saturday, I hope to work with the Natural to see if this is going to meet my needs for the book!

Best regards, Doug

2 Comments »

  1. I know exactly how you feel about the business travel. It lost novelty appeal many years ago for me. I try and add extra weekends as much as possible so I can at least get something out of it for me. Otherwise it’s an endless stream of airports & hotels.

    On a different tack – prompted by your re-work on shadows, I’ve been doing a similar thing to my monochrome stuff. Makes a big difference. I’ve even added a special curve to take account of the print/screen differences (the print service I use for large work uses Epsom printers that seem to have a black point around Lum 15).

    Comment by Martin Doonan — October 10, 2007 @ 9:02 am

  2. Martin, thanks, and thinking about your second point, led me to write my subsequent post about printint your own work. Of course the endless stream of hotels has led me to my series Insomnia: Hotel Noir!

    Comment by Doug Stockdale — October 13, 2007 @ 2:03 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

