Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

October 4, 2007

Small Photo Magazines

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 4:36 pm

First, the idea of a downsized self published portfolio book did not keep me up last night. Typically if something is really great or a big issue, I find myself thinking about it and effects my sleep. So thats one test that passes muster.

Then over breakfast this morning, thinking about the Aperture monograhs, that there are in the US two “small” photo magazines, LensWork and Camera Arts. I belive that LensWork has always been in the small format (7″ w x 8-1/2″ h) and CameraArts downsized (last year?) to a small format (7-1/2″ w x 9-3/4’h).  The Camera Arts magazine (perfect bound) is just about the same size as what I am considering.

This just means that I really need to make a sample book (dummy) with the images, etc in this size to see if it works for me.  So now I’m waiting for delivery of the paper samples from Moab, but I probably did not order enough. I guess I first need to finalize between the Natural and the Bright White rag papers;- )

Meanwhile, I have my proposed book size print (Randy) sitting next to my computer as I work, occasionally giving it a look.

Best regards, Doug

BTW Paul Lester had requested eight things you might not know about me, so here is the 8th; for breakfast, like this morning, I perfer Rasin Bran, low fat milk and no extra sugar (thats what the rasins are for).  My coffee is waiting for me after my commute to my client’s site, which is a little over an hour away (with a few pictures on the way!)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

