Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

October 3, 2007

My hand made book – Step 3

Filed under: Books, Photography, Projects/Series — Doug Stockdale @ 5:05 am

Start print pairing

Well I made contact with my potential partner, Mark Kirchner of Silverworks Studio in Newport Beach, who would provide the hand crafted book binding, hand sewn of course, as well as the lip clam shell to finish the presentation.  I know that I will have to make a committment for the limited edition size, as he will want to purchase all of the covering material from the same dye lot.

One item that Mark mentioned that I will need to check with whom every I chose for the printing paper, is ensure that the rag “grain” will be running parallel to the books spine.  This is going to help ensure the pages lay flat for a nice presentation and easy reading. The grain issue is more of an issue with true pulp paper than rag, as pulp paper has the cellouous fibers but even with rag there is still an orientation as a result of the manufacturing process.  Probably more than you care to know, but you have to realize the study of paper making was a part of my undergraduate program;- )

Meanwhile I have ordered some 190 gm bright white and natural Moab Entrada to do some print tests with. The Bright White has some OBAs (optical brightening agents) to help with the whiteness, which may be more important if I was printing full color.  The OBAs do fade gently over time, so the images will shift color as well.  What interests me with the Natural is how it will look with my tonal hue selection and if I might need to make a slight adjustment to have the two work together.  Alright, who am I kidding? I know that I will do a bunch of testing and will need to figure out my new hue saturation adjustment will be if I decide to use the Natural.

So one small step at a time,

Best regards, Doug

2 Comments »

  1. I did some moisture testing on a couple of rag papers to determine the fiber direction, and to my surprise the paper showed very much curling. Almost as much as ordinary heavy weight paper. I tested Somerset Velvet (which is the same paper base as Epson Velvet) and photorag 308. I would have thought the rag paper was closer to hand made paper, but no.

    Comment by Kjell H A — October 5, 2007 @ 9:49 pm

  2. Kjell, I’m not that surprised. Due to the economics of rag paper making, they use some of the same types of equipment as fibre paper manufacturing and as a result, they get an orientation of the medium coming out of the vat on the converyor. The subseuent callendering will also create some rag orientation. You might not see this with some of the more expensive mould made specialty papers used by watercolorist, as the mould usually moves up and down, the rag particals get a more random distribution.

    Comment by Doug Stockdale — October 5, 2007 @ 10:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

