Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

September 3, 2007

Heading to JiaXing, China

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 8:45 pm

LianYanGang

LianYanGang, China, April 2007

I just received confirmation that I will be traveling to JiaXing China at the end of this month for a two week project.  JiaXing is about a hour and half drive South of Shanghai. I had hoped to have a short layover in Tokyo and meet up with Guy Yakes/akikana, but the scheduling this time is not going to allow me that opportunity.  Perhaps on the next trip later in the Fall.

I will have a either a morning or an evening open on one of the weekends in Shanghai and I hope to make it to one of the photography galleries there, either m97, 1918 ArtSPACE or ARTSEA Photography Studio & Gallery. The first two have web sites with English that I will check the week before I leave. If I make it to any of these three galleries, I will provide a brief review when I return.

I am also planning to have the laptop rigged up for uploading images so I hope to do a few Photo(s) of the Day during this trip. For the trip last to China in Apri, I went with minimal photo gear, but this time I am going to add the tripod. I am seriously considering upgrading the ball head before I leave. I may also purchase the panoramic platform as well.

I do expec jet lag, etc and so working on my Insomnia: Hotel Noir series will be a no brainer. I also do not expect to have a huge amount of free time either, similar to the last trip. Business trips with large client and supplier teams does not allow much flexiblity.

Don’t get me wrong, I will still be able to mkae some images and it is still a great opportunity to see some parts of China during this developmental boom that they are going through. For a two week stay, the best that I can hope for is to see what I can see as a “Westerner”.

Best regards, Doug

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

