Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

August 28, 2007

Do you see what I see?

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 3:42 pm

In following up on yesterdays discussion about “seeing” and perhaps to answer my own question as to what do I contribute to the on going dialog about the landscape, I bring my own unique version of “seeing”. I will see things different that anyone else, because I bring with my vision/perception all of my past experiences, which no one had but me.

Likewise, I have an idea that may in and of itself be nothing “new”, but I bring my own self into the picture, pardon my pun. Whereas my ideas may not be new, but how I decide to act on it, to what extent I fully understand the concept, my ability to capture the essence of my idea and present my creative endevors will probably be very unique.

I might actually fail to get my ideas across to anyone. But again, I might make some connections as I know that I did from the feedback from my series Bad Trip – Sad Trip. I do know that if I do not try or attempt this creative task, then for sure I will fail. So I will step forward and continue on.

BTW, the photo of the day from yesterday is another lesson for myself, as I have photographed this old house that is facing the Inland freeway a number of times now. I could have chosen the image that I made that has the front fence literially fallen down and laying on the freeway boundary. Perhaps that image is a little overkill on the idea of the sad disrepair of the homes that front this busy freeway. I decided that the image that I posted to be a little more subtle, but if you look close, you can see the disrepair and the clothes appearing to be drying on a fence, not even a clothes line. But then there are the two tv satalite dishes directly adjacent to these clothes. So, did you see what I saw?

Best regards, Doug

2 Comments »

  1. “Did you see what I saw?” More than likely, no. That’s what I love about art and, well, being human in general. We all have our view of reality. I don’t think that we could ever catch a view of an object reality. All points of view are colored by our experiences and, mostly, our thoughts, which come from those same experiences. When you press the shutter, you are giving me your view of reality at that time. It might be quite different next week. I like to view through other people’s eyes. It’s fascinating, like your Bad Trip – Sad Trip series.

    Comment by paul — September 3, 2007 @ 8:55 pm

  2. Paul, Thanks, I completely agree with you. Sometimes I have self-doubts as to whether or not what I photograph and the images that I subsequently create actually connect. So I vent. But even in the process of venting I achive a little beter understanding of my own unique vision. A nice form of therapy;- ) And I do appreciate your positive feedback, thanks again.

    Comment by Doug Stockdale — September 3, 2007 @ 9:45 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

