Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

August 12, 2007

Photo of the Day

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 1:53 am

San Onofre State Beach

San Onofre State Beach – California

 I do not usually turn an image around fast enough to qualify it as a photo of the day, but today this was an exception.

 My sister and brother in law wanted me to photograph them surfing this morning, so we headed over to San Onofre State Beach, which is just below Orange County in San Diego County, about a 20 minute drive. The surf was Summer small 1-2′ with an onshore break, so they were in close enough for my 70 – 200 f/4 lens on the Rebel XTi. Nice overcast morning and I was looking at the cliff erosion as we walked down to the beach, but the lighting was too flat and boring.

Getting ready to come back was another story, as the high over cast was breaking up and the sky was peaking through, enough to add some character. I did a quick switch of my lens to the 17-40mm f/4 and walking down the beach, I found this interesting area and created this composition. Totally unplanned and a nice image.

Since I was working on fine tuning a couple of the surfing pictures (one good photo of them catching the same wave and they both broke right at the same time along the face of the curl) for them, and finishing I came back to this image which relatively quick came together.

Best regards, Doug

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

