Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

August 3, 2007

Transition

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 11:56 pm

SoCal landscape 1

This is a period for me that feels very transitional, like I am in that inbetween state. I am about as far as I go now with the available images for my series Bad Trip – Sad Trip, although I still need to spend some time on the Artist Statement. I have made a lot of photographs for the series Insomnia: Hotel Noir.  And I have started working on the final images for this series, and I do need to get the rough draft of my artist statement written (from my head on to “paper”).

I have also made a lot of images for a new Southern California landscape Freeway series, that until now I have been calling project number four. I need to do a lot of everything for this series, including coming up with an nice name for the series. Project number four is the entire length of the I-405 that runs from Northern Los Anegles county into Southern Orange County, two big adjacent counties. So you could say that I have a lot of RAW data, and yes the pun is intended.

Then I stated a client project in Riverside County, so I have a ton of RAW images that I have made driving the I-15 freeway. Really raw data, some photographs that I have only downloaded and have not even really looked at yet. That is now project number five. And the morning photographs that I have been making recently could be a seperate project.

Which is why it was a little frustrating to be redoing the images from the series Bad Trip – Sad Trip while I have three other series waiting in the wings for me to start developing.

As you can tell, I do not have an immediate issue with “photographers block” as it relates to my projects! Getting my feelings about these series on paper is whole other thing. You will probably be seeing fewer roadside memorial images for a while :- )

Okay, cars and freeways. We just had one of our Honda Pilots towed into the dealership yesterday evening. This was while we were out to dinner with our son-in-law and the grandkids,  having stopped for some ice cream on the way home.  After we stopped, we found out that the Pilot was not going to move again under its own power. Bad news/Good news. The transmission was a goner, but the warrently is providing a new replacement, no cost to us. But it sure does mess up your schedule! What a pain in the you-kno-what. Cars, you can’t live with ’em, and you can’t live without them.

Best regards, Doug

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

