Doug Stockdale's Singular Images

July 10, 2007

Singular Images

Filed under: Photography — Doug Stockdale @ 7:12 pm

…When I first announced my blog name, Colin Jago came back with the immediate comment that he was at that same moment reading the Ansel Adams book Singular Images. I did not think that book title was where I was drawing my blog name from. What I was looking at was the title of the Black & White magazine’s special edition Single Images and remembering the recent comment on-line that even when viewing a series of images, you still look at the pictres one at a time. So I came up with what I thought was a dervivative of that title, about looking at images one at a time. And that is how I am usually posting the images with this blog, one at a time.

But the Adams book title appeared familiar. Quick check at the time and it was not in my bookcase. But Oi! what recently came out between the cracks of two larger photography monographs, but my thin copy of the Adams book Singular Images. I think that I am going to have to give a little credit to my latent memory afterall. So I did a re-read of my 1974 copy of this book. Interesting that Adams writes in his statement about the Polaroid Land process “which is now a most important branch in the great tree of photography“. Oh, well, probably the same could have been said about silver gelatin prints at one time.

The images in Adams book are a mixed bag, but share in common that they were made from Polaroid films. I guess it would have been good to post one of my Polaroids with this, but I’m not sure where my Polaroid prints are at the moment. Some of Adams images in this book may have been very interesting (but some are downright awful) and pushing the state of the vision in late 1950’s and 1960’s. Now there are a couple of images that I do find interesting but not enough of a reason for me to recommend that you go looking for this book (actual it’s perfect bound and about the exact size of the magzine CameraArts).

Best regards, Doug

1 Comment »

  1. Very interesting in light of the recent discussion over on Paul Butzi’s blog about influence. How much is in our latent memory and how much is total coincidence? Hard to tell. My blog is very consciously named after a book I own, as I described here.

    Comment by Rosie Perera — July 11, 2007 @ 6:58 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

